Williams College to Host Conference on 1920s Presidencies

Media contact: Noelle Lemoine, communications assistant; tele: (413) 597-4277; email: [email protected]

WILLIAMSTOWN, Mass., November 5, 2014—Williams College will host “Reflections on The New Era: Reassessing the 1920s,” a conference exploring the presidencies of Warren G. Harding, Calvin Coolidge, and Herbert Hoover, on Saturday, Nov. 15. Scholars and experts from Williams and other institutions will participate in panel discussions examining aspects and interpretations of the 1920s-era presidencies. All presentations are free and open to the public. They will be held in Griffin Hall, room 3, and do not require registration.

9 – 10:30 a.m. Legacies of Wilsonianism and Progressivism in the 1920s

Panelists include Christopher McKnight Nichols, professor of history at Oregon State University; Justus Doenecke, professor of history emeritus at the New College of Florida; and John Fox, historian for the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Comments provided by George H. Nash, a historian and interpreter of American conservatism at the Russell Kirk Center.

10:45 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. Foreign Relations and Political History

Panelists include Robert David “KC” Johnson, American history professor at Brooklyn College; Richard G. Frederick, professor of history at the University of Pittsburgh at Bradford; and James McAllister, Fred Greene Third Century Professor of Political Science at Williams. Comments provided by Marc Gallicchio, professor of history at Villanova University.

1:45 – 3:15 p.m. Social, Economic, and Cultural History

Panelists include Ruth Clifford Engs, professor of applied health science emeritus at Indiana University; Carol Jackson Adams, associate vice president for academic affairs at Webster University; and Derek Hoff, associate professor of history and economic historian at Kansas State University. Comments provided by Alex Pavuk, assistant professor of history and geography at Morgan State University.

3:30 – 5 p.m. First Ladies

Panelists include Katherine A.S. Sibley, professor of American history at Saint Joseph’s University; Teri Finneman, doctoral student at the Missouri School of Journalism; and Nancy Beck Young, department chair and professor of history at the University of Houston. Comments provided by Maurine Beasley, professor of journalism at the University of Maryland.

This event is sponsored by the Stanley Kaplan Program in American Foreign Policy.


For building locations on the Williams campus, please consult the map outside the driveway entrance to the Security Office located in Hopkins Hall on Main Street (Rte. 2), next to the Thompson Memorial Chapel, or call the Office of Communications (413) 597-4277. The map can also be found on the web at www.williams.edu/map


Published November 5, 2014