Williams students and alumni are receiving a slew of fellowships and scholarships this spring.

Several dozen Williams students and alumni have received fellowships and scholarships this spring. As we learn of more awards, we will announce them at the top of this list.

Noah Savage ’22 and Stephen Willis ’22 won the Class of 1945 Florence Chandler Memorial Fellowship. The award provides a $30,000 grant to support a year of purposeful, independent study outside the United States.

Mohazzab Abdullah ’22 won the Jeffrey Owen Jones ’66 Fellowship in Journalism, a $15,000 grant intended to assist a graduating senior in starting a career in journalism, whether in traditional or new media. Abdullah plans to visit the Pakistan-Afghanistan border region, where they will report and write critically on how Pakistan exercises its foreign policy in Afghanistan through Federally Administered Tribal Areas of Pakistan. Abdullah will also develop an online archive of refugee testimonies.

The following students won the Hubbard Hutchinson Fellowship in the Creative and Performing Arts:

  • Nadiya Atkinson ’22 (theatre)
  • Noah Jacobson ’22 (music)
  • Joseph Messer ’22 (art)
  • Shalya Powell ’22 (writing)
  • Ashley Xu ’22 (dance)

Jonah Tobin ’23 received the Phi Beta Kappa Society‘s Key into Public Service Scholarship.

Isabel Albores ’23 received the Goldwater Scholarship, awarded to college sophomores and juniors who intend to pursue research careers in the natural sciences, mathematics and engineering.

Gold Carson ’23 was named a Beinecke Scholar, supporting graduate education in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Emily Chen ’22 received an Ertegun Scholarship in the Humanities.

Kailyn Gibson ’22 won the  Congress-Bundestag Youth Exchange (CBYX) for Young Professionals Fellowship to Germany.

 The following people have received a National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship:

  • Frances Elizabeth Dean ’19
  • Robert Oliver Dulin ’19
  • Liza Jacoby ’22
  • Rachel Yael Levin ’19
  • Katherine Henness Pippenger ’20
  • Alexander Michael Trevithick ’21 

The following members of the Class of ’22 have received Dr. Herchel Smith Fellowships to pursue an M.Phil. degree(s) at Cambridge University in the U.K.:

  • Jaya Alagar (population health sciences)
  • Rebecca Brody (population health sciences)
  • Maya Huffman (chemistry by research)
  • Michelle Laker (therapeutic sciences; population health sciences)
  • Kofie Lee-Berman (anthropocene studies)
  • Connor Middleton (education; economic and social history)
  • Clare Rogowski (population health sciences)
  • Ben Weinstein (early modern history)
  • Isaac Wilkins (history and philosophy of science and medicine)

Alicia Smith Reina ’22 won an Allen Martin and Carroll Wilson Fellowship to Oxford University, where she will pursue an M.Sc. mathematics and foundations of computer science.

Eleven Williams seniors and alumni have been offered Fulbright grants:

  • Bailey Bryan ’19 won an English teaching assistantship to Nepal.
  • Emily Bleiberg ’22 won an English teaching assistantship to Spain.
  • Tricia De Souza ’21 won a study/research grant to Brazil.
  • Jacob Eisner ’22 won an English teaching assistantship to Germany.
  • Laurel Jarombek ’15 won a study/research grant to Turkey.
  • Emma Larson ’21 won an English teaching assistantship to Kazakhstan.
  • Emily Marquis ’22 won an English teaching assistantship to Colombia.
  • Abigail Matheny ’22 won a study/research grant to Peru.
  • Rebecca Park ’22 won an English teaching assistantship to Taiwan.
  • Nicholas Servedio ’22 won an English teaching assistantship to Taiwan.

If you have received a scholarship or grant and your name is not on this list, or you know of someone who has, please contact the Office of Fellowships at [email protected].

For more information about fellowship opportunities, visit fellowships.williams.edu.

Published May 17, 2022


2023 Watson Fellowship winner Shiara Pyrrhus ’23 will explore traditional medicine’s contributions to the global health field.

Williams names two Gaius Charles Bolin Fellows for 2023-25, honoring the legacy of Williams’ first Black graduate and promoting faculty diversity.

Environmental Defense Fund President Fred Krupp and former director of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Sara J. Bloomfield to receive honorary degrees at Williams’ 234th commencement.

Safa Zaki, Williams’ Dean of Faculty and the John B. McCoy and John T. McCoy Professor of Psychology, has been elected as the 16th president of Bowdoin College beginning July 1, 2023.

President Maud S. Mandel receives award for supporting first-generation and low-income students.

From the beauty and euphoria of math research to American Yiddishkayt—and lots of subjects in between—six professors participating in the Faculty Lecture Series will share their research over the course of six Thursdays from February through April.

Magnús T. Bernhardsson, Brown Professor of History, has won a prestigious grant from the Icelandic Research Fund to research 40 families from Iraq and Syria that have arrived as refugees in Iceland since 2014.

Williams welcomes a new major in Africana studies and a program in Asian American studies.

Physics professor Graham Giovanetti has received a 2023 Cottrell Scholar Award, which includes $100,000 to support his research and efforts to help prepare prospective physics majors at Williams.

Geosciences professor Rónadh Cox has been named to the 2022 class of the American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows, in recognition for “scientific and socially notable achievements spanning their careers.”