Environmental Defense Fund President Fred Krupp and former director of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Sara J. Bloomfield to receive honorary degrees at Williams' 234th commencement.

Environmental Defense Fund President Fred Krupp will be the principal speaker at Williams College’s 234th Commencement Exercise on Sunday, June 4, 2023. The day before, U.S. Holocaust Museum Director Sara Bloomfield will deliver the college’s Baccalaureate lecture. Krupp and Bloomfield will both receive honorary Doctor of Laws (LLD) degrees during the Commencement ceremony.

2023 Honorary Degree Recipients

Headshot of Fred KruppFred Krupp is the president of Environmental Defense Fund (EDF), a global nonprofit environmental advocacy group based in New York City. In this role for more than three decades, Krupp is a leading voice on climate change, energy, and sustainability. Under his leadership, EDF has become one of the world’s most influential environmental organizations with staff in more than two dozen countries. He successfully advocated for dramatic reductions in the pollution that causes acid rain, focused international attention on the problem of methane emissions from the oil-and-gas industry, elevated the challenges of hydrogen fuel and led EDF’s corporate partnerships with FedEx, KKR, McDonald’s, Walmart, and others. Krupp was named one of America’s Best Leaders by U.S. News and World Report and is a recipient of the 2015 William K. Reilly Environmental Leadership Award, among others. He is co-author with Miriam Horn of the New York Times bestseller Earth: The Sequel—The Race to Reinvent Energy and Stop Global Warming. A graduate of Yale University and the University of Michigan Law School, Krupp has taught environmental law at both schools, and received an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degree from Haverford College. He is currently a trustee at Yale. He has served on boards for numerous environmental organizations and on councils advising Presidents George H.W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush and Barack Obama. He is also an avid rower, who won a gold medal in the 2006 World Rowing Masters Regatta.

Headshot of Sara J. BloomfieldSara J. Bloomfield has led the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum for 24 years, working to build a global institution that raises Holocaust awareness, deepens understanding of the lessons of the Holocaust, confronts denial, and advances genocide prevention. She serves on the International Auschwitz Council and is a recipient of the Officer’s Cross of the Order of Merit of the Republic of Poland and five honorary doctorates. She joined the planning staff of the Museum in 1986 when it was still a project in development and served in a variety of roles before becoming director in 1999. Originally from Cleveland, Ohio, Ms. Bloomfield holds a bachelor of arts degree in English literature from Northwestern University, a master’s degree in education from John Carroll University, and has studied business administration at the graduate level. Ms. Bloomfield is the 2021 recipient of the Roger E. Joseph Prize, awarded annually for exceptional work in the field of human rights and Jewish survival.

Published March 15, 2023


2023 Watson Fellowship winner Shiara Pyrrhus ’23 will explore traditional medicine’s contributions to the global health field.

Williams names two Gaius Charles Bolin Fellows for 2023-25, honoring the legacy of Williams’ first Black graduate and promoting faculty diversity.

Safa Zaki, Williams’ Dean of Faculty and the John B. McCoy and John T. McCoy Professor of Psychology, has been elected as the 16th president of Bowdoin College beginning July 1, 2023.

President Maud S. Mandel receives award for supporting first-generation and low-income students.

From the beauty and euphoria of math research to American Yiddishkayt—and lots of subjects in between—six professors participating in the Faculty Lecture Series will share their research over the course of six Thursdays from February through April.

Magnús T. Bernhardsson, Brown Professor of History, has won a prestigious grant from the Icelandic Research Fund to research 40 families from Iraq and Syria that have arrived as refugees in Iceland since 2014.

Williams welcomes a new major in Africana studies and a program in Asian American studies.

Physics professor Graham Giovanetti has received a 2023 Cottrell Scholar Award, which includes $100,000 to support his research and efforts to help prepare prospective physics majors at Williams.

Geosciences professor Rónadh Cox has been named to the 2022 class of the American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows, in recognition for “scientific and socially notable achievements spanning their careers.”

Williams awards tenure to eleven faculty members.