Williams students recognized for writing and expression about student life and personal perspectives.

Williams College is pleased to announce the 2022 winners of two student writing and writing/expression contests: the Dunbar Student Life Prize and the William Sloane Coffin Homiletics Award.

The Dunbar Student Life Prize is designed to encourage promising campus leaders and writers. This competitive award recognizes students who are active in campus life in its social, political, educational and/or religious aspects, and who have produced significant, original written work on any aspect of student life. The work may be published or unpublished, and can focus on any local, national or global issues affecting college or university students. Thirty-five students submitted entries for this year’s competition, which awarded a total of $16,000 to 18 winners.  

This year’s award winners are:

1st Prize

Nadiya Atkinson ‘21.5
Noah Cohen-Greenberg ’22
Kayla Gillman ’22
Niko Malhotra ’24

2nd Prize

Joseph Messer ’22
Amina Naidjate ’25
Grady Short ’23 and Lindsay Wang ’24
Jonah Tobin ’23 and Oliver Hall ’23

3rd Prize

Sharon Mutoni ’23
Julia Powell ’23
Saud Afzal Shafi ’22
Lucy Walker ’23

Honorable Mention

Alice-Henry Carnell ‘22.5
Irene Loewenson ’22
Noah Savage ’22
Grady Short ’23

To learn more about the Dunbar Student Life Prize, visit fellowships.williams.edu.

Co-sponsored by the Chaplains’ Office and Pathways for Inclusive Excellence, this year’s William Sloane Coffin Homiletics Award event featured speeches from 4 students who were selected from 8 entries. Each finalist delivered an approximately 5-minute, original speech using the homiletical form of their choice. Rebecca Park ’22 won first place, with a $1,000 cash prize; Sarah Ling ’24 won second place, with a $500 cash prize; and Irene Loewenson ’22 and Loren Tsang ’22 were this year’s runners-up.

Read more information about the William Sloane Coffin Award and view videos from previous years’ winners.

Published May 12, 2022