Nasdaq President and CEO Adena Testa Friedman ’91 will speak at Convocation and receive a Bicentennial Medal along with five other alumni.

Williams College will present Bicentennial Medals at Fall Convocation on Saturday, Sept. 10, to six accomplished alumni, including Nasdaq President and CEO Adena Testa Friedman ’91, the Convocation speaker.

Friedman has shaped Nasdaq’s transformation into a leading global exchange and technology solutions corporation. She has 30 years of experience at Nasdaq and The Carlyle Group and serves as a Class B director to the Federal Reserve Bank of New York and on several boards, including the nonprofit FCLTGlobal. 

Other 2022 Bicentennial medalists are: 

Pamela Council ’07
An artist who uses sculpture, architecture, writing and performance, Council creates “multisensory dedications that both provide relief and prompt exuberance.” They coined the term BLAXIDERMY to describe their Afro-Americana camp aesthetic, and they are the recipient of numerous commissions, residencies and awards, including the 2017 Joan Mitchell Grant.

Anouk Dey ’09 and Katherine Krieg Fischer ’08 
With a Projects for Peace grant, Dey and Fischer founded Reclaim Childhood in 2008 as a four-week summer sports camp for displaced Iraqi girls in Amman, Jordan. Today the organization provides programming year-round for refugees from seven countries as well as for local girls in Jordan, helping empower them through sport and leadership opportunities.

Dr. Elizabeth “Libby” Hohmann ’80 
A staff physician in the Infectious Diseases Division at Massachusetts General Hospital, Hohmann served as a site principal investigator of the National Institutes of Health’s double-blind, placebo-controlled remdesivir trial for the treatment of Covid-19. She also directed the hospital’s institutional review board, which seeks to protect the rights and welfare of human subjects, during its Covid vaccine trials.

Lina Khan ’10
Appointed by U.S. President Joe Biden to chair the Federal Trade Commission, Khan is implementing plans to transform the agency and bring forward big enforcement actions against the technology industry. She previously served as an associate professor of law at Columbia Law School, and her scholarship on antitrust and competition policy is widely published.

Established in 1993 on the occasion of the college’s 200th anniversary, Bicentennial Medals honor members of the Williams community for distinguished achievement in any field of endeavor. Learn more about past medalists on the Alumni Awards website.

Read more about Williams’ 2022 Convocation ceremonies

Published August 22, 2022


2023 Watson Fellowship winner Shiara Pyrrhus ’23 will explore traditional medicine’s contributions to the global health field.

Williams names two Gaius Charles Bolin Fellows for 2023-25, honoring the legacy of Williams’ first Black graduate and promoting faculty diversity.

Environmental Defense Fund President Fred Krupp and former director of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Sara J. Bloomfield to receive honorary degrees at Williams’ 234th commencement.

Safa Zaki, Williams’ Dean of Faculty and the John B. McCoy and John T. McCoy Professor of Psychology, has been elected as the 16th president of Bowdoin College beginning July 1, 2023.

President Maud S. Mandel receives award for supporting first-generation and low-income students.

From the beauty and euphoria of math research to American Yiddishkayt—and lots of subjects in between—six professors participating in the Faculty Lecture Series will share their research over the course of six Thursdays from February through April.

Magnús T. Bernhardsson, Brown Professor of History, has won a prestigious grant from the Icelandic Research Fund to research 40 families from Iraq and Syria that have arrived as refugees in Iceland since 2014.

Williams welcomes a new major in Africana studies and a program in Asian American studies.

Physics professor Graham Giovanetti has received a 2023 Cottrell Scholar Award, which includes $100,000 to support his research and efforts to help prepare prospective physics majors at Williams.

Geosciences professor Rónadh Cox has been named to the 2022 class of the American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows, in recognition for “scientific and socially notable achievements spanning their careers.”