Williams welcomes new trustees to its board.

Williams welcomes three new members to its Board of Trustees: Danielle Deane-Ryan ’97, Jan van Eck ’85 and Jeffrey K. Rhodes ’97. They will each begin multi-year terms on July 1. In addition, Trustee Elizabeth Andersen ’87 has been selected as the next Board chair, effective July 1, 2024. 

Photo of Danielle Deane-Ryan ’97
Danielle Deane-Ryan ’97

For 25 years, Danielle Deane-Ryan has tied together environmental and equity issues. Under the Obama administration, she grew media awareness of the U.S. Department of Energy’s clean energy accomplishments. She is now a climate, energy and environmental justice consultant and also serves on Seventh Generation’s Social Mission Board, a reflection of her passion for integrating science, community and business expertise to forge solutions. With the Donors of Color Network, she was the co-architect of the groundbreaking Climate Funders Justice Pledge, which catalyzed nearly $100 million for climate justice NGOs and won the 2020 March on Washington Film Festival Award.

Photo of Jan van Eck ’85
Jan van Eck ’85

Jan van Eck is president and chief executive of Van Eck Associates Corporation (VanEck), which manages $76.4 billion in assets as of March 2023. He is also president and CEO of Van Eck Securities Corporation and concurrently serves as president, CEO and trustee of VanEck Vectors ETF Trust, VanEck Funds and VanEck VIP Trust. In addition, he serves as a director of the National Committee on United States-China Relations. In 2013, he was a finalist for Institutional Investor’s Fund Leader of the Year and a 2019 finalist for ETF.com’s Lifetime Achievement Award. He serves on the Board of Councilors of the University of Southern California’s Marshall School of Business.

Headshot photo of Jeffrey K. Rhodes '97
Jeffrey K. Rhodes ’97

Jeffrey K. Rhodes is co-managing partner of TPG Capital. He co-leads TPG’s healthcare group and its investments in the healthcare, pharmaceutical and medical device sectors. He currently serves as a director of portfolio companies BVI, Immucor, LifeStance Health, Pediatric Associates, Troon and WellSky. He also served as a founding director of the Health Care Private Equity Association. As a nonprofit volunteer, he has served as a member of the Governing Council of the Wilderness Society since 2019, and the Advisory Council of the Mossavar-Rahmani Center for Business and Government at the Harvard Kennedy School since 2022.

Outgoing Board of Trustee members are Timothy Barrows ’79, Andreas Halvorsen ’86 and Mariam Naficy ’91. 

Published June 14, 2023