A composite photo of 2024-25 Goldwater Scholars Sam Bishop and Luke Young-Xu.

Sam Bishop ’25 and Luke Young-Xu ’25 (pictured above, L-R) are among the select college sophomores and juniors named as Goldwater Scholars for the 2024-25 academic year. The award goes to students who intend to pursue research careers in the natural sciences, mathematics and engineering. Bishop plans to earn a Ph.D. in atomic, molecular and optical physics. Young Xu, meanwhile, intends to pursue genetics and molecular biology.

In other award news, Ben Thorp Brown ’06, a New York-based artist who works in sculpture, video, sound and installation, has been named a Guggenheim Fellow in Fine Arts for 2024. He also teaches in the fine arts department of Parsons School of Design, The New School.